Georgia State Electric Bike Laws

Electric bikes, although popular, remain somewhat of a grey area in the law of the United States of America. That’s why, if you want to avoid taxes and penalties, you want to dive deeper into the information provided online - let’s find out how to manage electric bikes in Georgia.

How does the state of Georgia declares what an electric bike is.


In Georgia, an electric bicycle is essentially a bike with either two or three wheels, pedals, and a saddle. It has a motor that provides up to 750W of power, and you can essentially categorize the bikes into three classes:

  • class 1 is all about bikes that assist when you’re doing the pedaling, and the maximum speed is around 20 miles per hour
  • class 2 talks about bikes that assist no matter whether you’re pedaling, and the maximum speed remains 20 miles per hour
  • class 3 includes electric bicycles that assist when you pedal, but the maximum speed is higher than the one defined in class 1 and stands at 28 miles per hour

Key Points

How powerful can my bike be? As issued by the state of Georgia, the upper limit of your motor’s strength should not exceed 750W.

Do I need a license or insurance? There are no licenses, registrations, or additional documents you must get.

Do I need to wear a helmet? Helmets are required purely for electric bikes in class 3, no matter your age. Keep in mind that this applies both to drivers and passengers.

Are there age restrictions to look out for? Yes, there are, but only for class 3 bikes! If you want to ride one, you must be over 15.

Can I ride on the road? Of course, you can, but you must follow local guidelines and ride as far on the right side as possible. When it comes to trails, unless stated otherwise, a bike that reached up to 20 miles per hour seems to be fine.

Can I modify my bike? Modifications are allowed regarding your bike's looks and practicality, but adding extra speed or power to the engine isn’t allowed.

Do bike riders need to obey all the traffic signs? Yes, just like you would if you were a car driver.

What about my electric mountain bike? If you have a mountain bike, you need to consider the motor's speed and power, but we advise you to consult the local authorities since guidelines for these bikes don’t seem to be generalized. They may not be welcome on paths and trails intended for non-motorized activities.


Before you ride your electric bike in the state of Georgia, make sure to ask around in local bike shops and find some general guidelines. Use your common sense, as this grey area in law might be used against you if any accidents occur.


Georgia e-bike law PDF.

Want to learn more?

Check out these articles below