Electric bikes have been getting more and more popular lately, and because of this, there was a need to make universal bike laws for everyone. These have been created in the United States of America, but they differ greatly from state to state. Today we discuss the Maine state electric bike laws.
How does the state of Maine declares what an electric bike is.
Maine defines an electric bike as a bike with completely operational pedals, but it also has a motor that assists. This motor should not exceed 750 W of power and the speed of about 20 miles per hour on a horizontal surface. In addition, these bikes must have a white front light and a red taillight to ensure everyone’s safety.
The Maine state electric bike laws talk about three different bike classes:
- class 1 - electric bikes that are equipped with a motor assisting you when you pedal, and you can reach a maximum speed of about 20 miles per hour
- class 2 - electric bikes that are equipped with a motor that assists no matter whether you’re pedalling, but the maximum speed is still 20 miles per hour
- class 3 - electric bikes that assist when you’re pedaling, but you can reach a slightly higher speed of 28 miles per hour
How powerful can my bike be? When you’re buying and modifying your electric bike, you should ensure that it does not exceed 750 W of power.
Do I need a license or insurance? The Maine state doesn’t have any special guidelines regaring a license or a registration for an electric bike - you do not need them.
Do I need to wear a helmet? You are legally obligated to wear a helmet if you are under the age of 16, but it’s advised that people over this age also wear a helmet for their safety.
Are there age restrictions to look out for? If we’re talking about class 2 or 3 bikes, you must know that a person under the age of 16 cannot ride the bike but only get on one as a passenger! The rider must be over 16.
Can I ride on the road? Electric bikes of classes 1 and 2 can be used wherever regular bicycles are allowed. The troubles begin when we talk about class 3 bikes, as these cannot be operated on bike paths meant for non-motorized vehicles.
Can I modify my bike? Yes! It’s advised to add more lights to make it safer. However, any changes must be practical or aesthetic, and you shouldn’t change the motor capacity of your bike in any way, shape or form!
Are there any forbidden stunts? Make sure that you’re extra careful around pedestrians and moving cars - never cling to anything or anyone when you’re riding. Also, if you have a class 3 bike, contact the local authorities for additional tips.
What about mountain bikes? The Maine Department of Conservation and Recreation did not address electric bikes and their types. If you have a mountain bike and want to access bike trails, you must register it as an ATV. You should contact the department for more information.
If you’re wondering about electric bike laws and, specifically, the Maine state electric bike laws, you should take some notes from the text. In addition to that, you can check the local district's website to see whether there have been any new guidelines.