Electric bikes are a great method of transport, but they seem to be very confusing and a grey area of the law. That’s why we discuss the New Jersey state electric bike laws - it’s better to be safe than to be sorry. We should all be concerned for our safety and those around us.
How does the state of New Jersey declares what an electric bike is.
New Jersey defines electric bikes as regular mechanical bikes with a motor of strength up to 750 W. These bikes can achieve up to 25 miles per hour, and the maximum displacement allowed is 50 cc. An additional rule is that this electric bike cannot have more than 1.5 brake horsepower!
The New Jersey state electric bike laws differ three kinds of bikes:
- class 1 - electric bikes that assist only when you’re pedaling, only up to 20 miles per hour, when the assistance turns off
- class 2 - electric bikes that have a throttle-engaged motor that assists only up to 20 miles per hour, and then it disengages
- class 3 - electric bikes are considered to be motorized vehicles due to their strength and speed, unlike class 1 and class 2, treated as regular bicycles
How powerful can my bike be? To stay in classes 1 and 2, your e-bike shouldn’t exceed 1.5 brake horsepower and the maximum displacement allowed is 50 cc.
Do I need a license or insurance? Class 1 and 2 electric bikes do not require any registration, licensing, or insurance, while class 3 bikes require all of those mentioned above.
Do I need to wear a helmet? Although certain districts might overlook this rule, helmets are a must-have for all riders.
Are there age restrictions to look out for? Various sources speak about different rules. For example, some say that you need to be 15 years old to ride an electric bike, while others say this applies to class 3 bikes only. Again, consult your local authorities to stay safe.
Can I ride on the road? Class 1 and 2 bikes can be used on the road, but only on those that the local government intended for such use. Unless there is a clear sign, they should not be used on sidewalks intended for pedestrians. Electric bikes are not allowed on Interstate highways, highways with a speed limit over 50 miles per hour, and railroads.
Can I modify my bike? If you modify your bike when it comes to aesthetics, yes. It’s required to have a white front headlamp, a red rear tail light, as well as a bell or a horn that is noticeable even 100 feet away.
Are there any forbidden stunts? New Jersey does not tolerate rides on sidewalks, especially in areas with lots of pedestrians.
What about mountain bikes? Electric mountain bikes don’t belong to New Jersey - there are almost no areas managed for recreation of this kind. These vehicles are considered motorized and therefore have access to motorized trails. Consult the local authorities to stay safe.
The New Jersey state electric bike laws recognize traditional bikes and motorized bikes, so make sure to stay safe and informed. Don’t ride anywhere near the pedestrian and consult the local authorities for age limits.